Council Members

The BSP Council is responsible for the general affairs of the Society.

There are six Council Officers and up to eight Ordinary Council Members.  Postgraduate students are also represented on council by student representatives.

Ordinary Members of the BSP Council are elected by the membership and stand for three years.
Council Officers are proposed by the BSP Council and their election ratified by the membership at the AGM. The President and Vice-president serve for two years, and the other Officers for three years.

Any BSP member can stand for election to Council. Please contact the Hon Gen Sec if you are interested.


Professor Maria-Gloria Basanez

Council President 2018-2020

Professor of Neglected Tropical Diseases at Imperial College London

Telephone: 020 75943295

Contact: Via Email

Sutherland_Colin10 cropped

Dr Colin Sutherland

Vice-President (2018-2020)

Professor of Parasitology at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Contact: Via Email


Professor Damer Blake

Honorary Meetings Secretary (2016-2019)

Professor of Parasite Genetics at the Royal Veterinary College

Contact: Via Email


Dr Paul Denny

Honorary Treasurer (2016-2019)

Associate Professor in Biosciences at Durham University

Contact: Via Email


Professor Paul Horrocks

Honorary General Secretary (2016-2019)

Professor in Molecular Parasitology at Keele University

Contact: Via Email


Dr Helen Price

Honorary Communications Secretary (2018-2021)

Senior Lecturer in Bioscience at Keele University

Contact: Via Email


Dr Alvaro Acosta-Serrano

Ordinary Council Member (2016-2018)

Senior Lecturer in Parasite and Vector Biology, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Contact: Via Email


Dr Paul McVeigh

Ordinary Council member (2016-2019)

Research Fellow at Queen's University, Belfast

Contact: Via Email


Dr Justin Pachebat

Ordinary council member (2016-2019)

Senior Lecturer in Microbial Genomics at Aberystwyth University

Contact: Via Email


Professor Joanne Cable

Ordinary Council Member (2015-2018)

Professor of Parasitology at Cardiff University

British Ecological Society Parasites and Pathogens BES Special Interest Group,

Contact: Via Email


Professor Robert Hirt

Ordinary Council member (2018-2021)

Professor of Evolutionary Parasitology at Newcastle University

Contact: Via Email


Dr Pegine Walrad

Ordinary council member (2018-2021)

Lecturer at University of York

Contact: Via Email

James Lacourse Skype cropped

Dr James LaCourse

Ordinary Council Member (2018-2021)

Senior Lecturer in Parasitology at Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Contact: Via Email


Ms Alison Mbekeani

Student Representative

PhD student at Durham University

Contact: Via Email


Mr Tom Pennance

Student Representative

PhD Student at the Natural History Museum and Cardiff University

Contact: Via Email

Gala Garrod cropped

Ms Gala Garrod

Student Representative

PhD Student at Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Contact: Via Email

Honorary Members

Prof Sir Roy Anderson

Prof Chris Arme

Dr John Baker

Dr Bill Bray

Prof. Anthony Butterworth FRS

Prof Liz Canning

Prof Andre Capron

Dr Les Chappell

Prof Liz Canning

Prof Francis  Cox

Prof Michael Doenhoff

Dr Christine Facer

Dr Len Goodwin,CMG,FRS

Prof Brian Greenwood

Prof Paul Hagan

Prof David William Halton

Dr Rachel  Henderson

Mrs Sally Hirst

Dr John Holmes

Prof Adrian Hopkins

Prof Hilary Hurd

Dr Leonard Percy Joyner

Dr Bob Kabata

Prof Clive Kennedy

Prof Ralph Lainson, FRS

Prof Donald Lee

Prof John Lewis


Prof. Jack Llewellyn

Prof Peter Long

Dr Ade Lucas

Prof Sir Robert May, FRS

Sir Ian McGregor, CBE, FRS

Dr Diane McLaren

Prof David Molyneux

Dr Ralph Muller

Prof George Nelson

Dr Bruce Newton

Dame Bridget Ogilvie FRS

Dr Charlie Parr

Prof Wallace Peters

Prof Stephen Phillips

Dr David Rollinson

Dr Elaine Rose

Dame Miriam Rothschild, FRS

Lord Lawson Soulsby

Prof Geoff Targett

Prof Lawrence Threadgold

Prof Bill Trager

Prof Keith Vickerman, FRS

Prof Derek Wakelin

Prof Peter Wenk

Prof Haffy Williams

Mrs Pam Wright

Past Presidents

Institute of Biology Parasitology Group

1957-58                Prof B G Peters

1958-60                Dr EL Taylor

1960-62                Dr Ann Bishop FRS

British Society for Parasitology

1962-64                Dr O D Standon

1964-66                Dr L G Goodwin CMG FRS

1966-68                Dr S B Kendall

1968-70                Dr H D Crofton

1970-72                Prof P C C Garnham CMG FRS

1972-74                Prof F G Rees FRS

1974-76                Prof W Peters

1976-78                Prof J D Smyth

1978-80                Prof D L Lee

1980-82                Dr B A Newton

1982-83                Dr C A Wright

1983-86                Dr L P Joyner

1986-88                Prof R J Terry

1988-90                Dr B M Ogilvie

1990-92                Prof C Arme

1992-94                Prof D H Molyneux

1994-96                Prof C Kennedy

1996-98                Dr C A Facer

1998-00                Prof D Wakelin

2000-02                Prof G A Targett

2002-04                Dr D Rollinson

2004-06                Prof H Hurd

2006-08                Prof J Barrett

2008-10                Prof G Coombs

2010-12                Prof J Bradley

2012-14                Prof S Croft

2014-16                Prof J Smith

              2016-18                Prof M Taylor