BSP Autumn Symposium 2020

The BSP Autumn Symposium in 2020 will be held on 17-18th September at Keele University. The theme will be:

Achieving impact in parasitology: learning lessons from interdisciplinary research and community engagement.
Delivering interventions to control or eliminate parasitic disease are more likely to be successful when a strong interdisciplinary approach and meaningful culturally-appropriate engagement with the affected communities are employed. This two day symposium by the British Society for Parasitology, hosted at Keele University in Staffordshire UK, will discuss how lessons learnt from practitioners of interdisciplinary delivery and community engagement can help to bring about effective healthcare interventions for the control of parasitic diseases. This meeting seeks to bring together colleagues from applied healthcare, policy, social science, laboratory science and anthropological backgrounds to explore a range of topics, including but not limited to: the benefits and challenges of interdisciplinary approaches; perspectives from social science on the wide impact of parasitic infections; improving access and delivery of healthcare to affected communities; IEC/BCC healthcare interventions; integrating control of neglected tropical diseases; compliance and adherence in Mass Drug Administration.

BSP Spring Meeting 2020

The BSP Spring Meeting in 2020 will be held at the University of Edinburgh on 14-17 April.

Registration and abstract submission are open now on this link.





14-17 April 2020

More information

Special streams include: Malaria, Ecology, Veterinary Parasitology, Neglected Tropical Diseases
Confirmed speakers include:
Philippe Guérin, University of Oxford and the Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO)
Eileen Devaney, University of Glasgow
Bjorn Kafsack, Weill Cornell Medical College, USA
Pieter Johnson, University of Colorado Boulder, USA

A flyer for the meeting is available here.


Trypanosomiasis and Leishmaniasis Seminar in Granada, March 2020

The next trypanosomiasis/leishmaniasis focused meeting will be held at the Hotel Abades in the beautiful city of Granada, Spain from 8-11 March 2020.

Registration and abstract submission are now open on this link.

Deadline for abstract submission has been extended until 1st February 2020

Confirmed speakers include:

Jean-Claude Dujardin (Antwerp), Keith Gull (Oxford), Gloria Rudenko (Imperial College London), Markus Engstler (Wüerzburg), Eva Gluenz (Oxford), Martin Llewellyn (Glasgow), Luisa Figueiredo (Lisbon), Mark Carrington (Cambridge), Delores González Pacanowska (Granada) and Mark Field (Dundee).


A meeting flyer can be downloaded here. Information on how to get to Granada can be downloaded here. You can also download a Granada city map, a metro guide and information on the city and venue.


Please note that all student members of the BSP are eligible to apply for a travel award towards costs of attending this meeting. Further details on how to apply can be found here.