C.A. Wright Memorial Medal

The CA Wright medal has been given annually since 1985 to a member of the BSP to recognise their outstanding contribution to the discipline of parasitology. The recipient is a scientist in mid-career who, it is considered, will confirm their already outstanding achievements to become a truly distinguished future leader of their field.

This sentiment is in keeping with the encouragement of younger parasitologists by Chris Wright, Director of the Experimental Taxonomy Unit at the Natural History Museum, London, UK and the Society's President at the time of his untimely death in 1983, and in whose memory a commemorative medal was instigated.

Nominations for the CA Wright Medal

Nominations are now open for the 2021 award.

The nomination procedure for the CA Wright medal has been simplified. Nominations must be made in writing to the Hon General Secretary (Prof Martin Llewellyn, hongensec@bsp.uk.net), presenting a case for the awarding of the medal. The deadline for nominations for the 2023 medal is 12th January 2023.

Nominations are invited from members of BSP for this award for which the following conditions apply:

  • The medal is awarded for contributions to the discipline of parasitology in the broadest sense
  • Each nomination is made by a proposer who must be a bona fide paid-up member of BSP
  • All currently serving officers and members of Council are excluded from acting as proposers for candidates
  • No currently serving officers or members of Council may be nominated as candidates
  • Nominations must be made in writing to the Hon General Secretary, presenting a case for the awarding of the medal to the nominee
  • Candidates must be fully paid-up members of BSP of not less than three year's standing

Following receipt of nominations, candidates will be contacted by the Hon. Gen. Secretary, requesting confirmation that they meet the eligibility requirements, and that they wish to be considered for the Medal. If so, they will then be considered by the BSP Council at the first meeting of each calendar year.

All documents dealing with the unsuccessful candidates will be destroyed by the Hon. General Secretary immediately after the relevant Council meeting and no record will be kept in the Society's archives other than the name and papers of the successful candidate.

The Council reserves the following rights:

  • Not to make an award in a particular year
  • To make two awards if is unable to resolve a tie or if it is unreasonable to exclude one of the tied individuals

The C.A. Wright medallist will be presented with their medal by the President at the AGM.

C.A. Wright Medal Award Winners

2023      Dr. Susan Wyllie

2022      Prof Alvaro Acosta Serrano

2021      Prof Matthew Higgins

2020      Prof Sarah Reece

2019      Prof Russell Stothard

2018      Dr Annette MacLeod

2017      Dr Matthew Berriman

2016      Prof David Horn

2015      Dr Julian Rayner

2014      Prof Michael Barrett and Prof Alex Rowe

2013      Prof Mark Viney

2012      Prof Mark Taylor

2011      Prof Simon Brooker

2010      Prof Mark Field

2009      Dr Tim Littlewood

2008      Prof Keith Matthews

2007      Prof Jeremy Mottram

2006      Prof Mike Ferguson

2005      Dr Joanne Webster

2004      Prof A G Maule

2003      Prof P S Craig

2002      Prof M Woolhouse

2001      Prof R C Grencis

2000      Prof M W Kennedy

1999      Prof J D Barry

1998      Prof R Maizels

1997      Prof A Bianco

1996      Prof A Fairlamb

1995      Dr D Rollinson

1994      Prof J Blackwell

1993      Dr C Facer & Dr A E Keymer

1992      Dr D Bundy

1991      Prof A Tait

1990      Dr V R Southgate

1989      Prof D H Molyneaux

1988      Dr D J McLaren

1987      Prof D Wakelin

1986      Prof R M Anderson FRS

1985      Prof J Barrett

Print Version