Honours and Awards

The Society has a range of financial awards and travel grants. The Society also awards a C.A. Wright medal annually, in recognition of outstanding contributions to Parasitology.

Details of each of these schemes and how to apply for them are given below.

C.A. Wright Memorial Medal

The CA Wright medal has been given annually since 1985 to a member of the BSP to recognise their outstanding contribution to the discipline of parasitology. The recipient is a scientist in mid-career who, it is considered, will confirm their already outstanding achievements to become a truly distinguished future leader of their field.

This sentiment is in keeping with the encouragement of younger parasitologists by Chris Wright, Director of the Experimental Taxonomy Unit at the Natural History Museum, London, UK and the Society's President at the time of his untimely death in 1983, and in whose memory a commemorative medal was instigated.

Nominations for the CA Wright Medal are now open and nominations can be made at any time up to the closing date of 12th January 2025.

The nomination procedure for the CA Wright medal has been simplified. Nominations must be made in writing to the Hon General Secretary, presenting a case for the awarding of the medal.

President's Medal

2019 marked the introduction of a new award from the British Society of Parasitology. Named the “President’s Medal”, this award is intended to recognise our outstanding early career members. The Medal will be awarded annually to a recipient who will have produced international quality research outputs and/or have delivered tangible impacts to the field, as well as being able to demonstrate ambitions consistent with the potential to achieve a world-leading status within our research community.

Nominations to be received by the 12th January 2025. (Prof Martin Llewellyn, hongensec@bsp.uk.net)

Honorary Memberships for 2025

We are seeking nominations of esteemed colleagues for Honorary Memberships to acknowledge their significant career contributions to the field of Parasitology. These individuals will in turn act as ambassadors for the BSP and support its mission and values.

Nominations to be received by the 12th January 2025.

Nominations from underrepresented groups within our community are strongly encouraged.
We look forward to receiving your nominations soon!

Meeting travel awards

These awards give financial support to student members of the Society, to facilitate their participation at the Society's annual Spring meeting and Autumn Symposium.

The awards will be given on a first come, first-served basis until the abstract submission deadline. You must also submit an abstract, poster or oral, for the Spring meeting to eligible to apply. The awards currently are: Spring meeting up to £200, Autumn symposium up to £100.

International Training and Fieldwork Award

This award aims to give parasitologists at an early stage in their careers (PhD students or recent graduates) the opportunity to undertake international fieldwork or to visit overseas institutions.

Applications are now being accepted on a rolling basis.

Print Version